Sweet 16, Elite 8 and Final Four

NCAA

With March Madness coming to its final stages, I thought it would be cool to try to do some bracketology until the Final Four. So here we go:

Game 1: Florida vs. UCLA:  this one should be a great battle, but my guess is that Florida will advance because they have been the most consistent team.

Game 2: Dayton vs. Stanford: this is the most surprising of all games. Who would’ve thought that Dayton would defeat Syracuse (which was the number 1 team in the country for such a long time) and Stanford would defeat such a traditional and powerful program as Kansas? Tough choice, but I’m going Dayton on this one.

Game 3: Arizona vs. San Diego State: although I have a huge sympathy for San Diego State because I was recently there, I don’t think they can match with Arizona. The Wildcats go through.

Game 4: Baylor vs. Wisconsin: I gotta be honest and say that I didn’t watch that many Wisconsin games. However, Baylor got Isaiah Austin at center and Brady Heslip at guard, so I think the Bears will win.

Game 5: Virginia vs. Michigan State:  This one is a pity. Of all the teams I saw playing, those two impressed me the most. It would be a great final or at least a great Final Four game. Virginia’s defense borders on unbelievable, so I’ll give this one to the Cavaliers.

Game 6: Iowa State vs. Connecticut: With all due respect to Connecticut, after the way Iowa State defeated the always favorite North Carolina, they won’t stop here. Cyclones win.

Game 7: Kentucky vs. Louisville: Now that’s what I call a “Kentucky Derby”! This one is really though especially due to the great rivalry involved. Louisville is the reigning champions and they got Rick Pitino, a guy that knows the way to a championship. But Kentucky had a huge boost of excitement after beating Wichita State (that went undefeated for 35 games). Very tough call, but I think Kentucky wins.

Game 8: Tennessee vs. Michigan: Tennessee has a great game inside the paint and they’ve been building momentum over the last games. Michigan got a brilliant guard in Nik Stauskas. Another tough call, but I’m sticking with the Wolverines.

Therefore, our Elite 8 would have: Florida, Dayton, Arizona, Baylor, Virginia, Iowa State, Kentucky and Michigan.

The duels would be:

Florida vs. Dayton: Dayton is the Cinderella story in this year’s tournament but they are no match to Florida. The Gators advance easily.

Arizona vs. Baylor: Interesting game. My feeling is that Arizona wins because they have a better teamwork and play tougher. But it should be great to watch.

Virginia vs. Iowa State: Same as the Florida game. Iowa State already did too much. I predict a swapping victory for the Cavaliers.

Kentucky vs. Michigan: Of all the games I’m predicting here, this is probably the toughest of all. Both schools are traditional and have great programs. Kentucky’s defense is a little better so I’m going with the Wildcats.

Here’s our Final Four: Florida vs. Arizona and Virginia vs. Kentucky

Next Wednesday, we’ll see how my choices turned out and predict what can happen in the real Final Four.

Be sure to check out my book “Straight and Lethal”

Contact me: carloantico666@gmail.com

Add me on facebook: www.facebook.com/#!/carlo.antico

Leave a Reply

