Stanley Cup and The Finals

stanley-cup-final-20142014-nba-finals

It’s June and despite the fact that this year we have the soccer World Cup, we still have no football and baseball is warming up. However, June is great because that’s when the NBA finals and the NHL Stanley Cup begin.

I’ve been terrible with my guesses lately, but as a sports lover and a blogger I feel the need to express my guesses in both finals as well.

My two greater mistakes were underestimating the heart of the LA Kings in hockey and the talent of the BIG 3 (LeBron, Wade and Bosh) from the Heat in the NBA. I really thought Chicago wouldn’t be stopped in the NHL and that this time the Pacers had a real shot in beating Miami.

Anyway, that’s what’s great about sports in general: you almost never know what’s going to happen.

So, let’s see if this time I get it right.

NHL: Los Angeles Kings vs. New York Rangers    

First of all, one thing must be said: a classic East Coast/West Coast showdown is just a blast to witness. Actually, not only that, it’s a classic New York/LA rivalry, so this is probably one of the most anticipated finals over the last few years.

As I said before, I hugely underestimated the heart of the LA Kings in the series against Chicago so I have to be more careful now because not only they have their heart they also earned a huge boost in their morale.

The Rangers have a hungry team. It’s been twenty years since the New Yorkers last won a Stanley Cup and it doesn’t look like they are going to let this one slip away.

In a nutshell: an extremely hard pick, but as the Kings have home-ice advantage, I’m picking them. Most important though: it should be WONDERFUL to watch.

Kings 4-3.

NBA: San Antonio Spurs vs. Miami Heat  

Well, I’ll repeat what I said other times: I’m totally biased when it comes to the Spurs because they are my favorite team in the league and I love the city. However, the analysis here has to be objective.

The Spurs have been playing with a chip on their shoulder for the entire season because they were only a free throw away of winning it all last year. They manage to get here with their ageing 3 (Duncan, Parker and Ginobili) healthier than last year and players like Leonard, Splitter and Green playing better. And of course, there’s Pop: definitely an all-time Top 5 coach in the NBA.

The problem is that Miami do have more talent; even in their bench. Mario Chalmers, Shane Battier, Norris Cole, Rashard Lewis and even Chris Andersen are all very good players. When they are playing well is almost impossible to beat them.

It should also be fun to watch and I hope I’m wrong again, but much to my chagrin, I think the Heat will take the 3-peat.

Heat 4-2.

Be sure to check out my book “Straight And Lethal”.

You can contact me at: carloantico666@gmail.com

Add me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/carlo.antico

Follow me on tweeter: https://twitter.com/CarloAntico

Leave a Reply

