Hall of Idols # 12: Matt Damon

Matt-Damon-Jason-Bourne-5

Twelveth installment in a series exploring very important people in my life.

Let me start explaining how this will work: I listed 65 idols of mine. Every Friday (with the exception of those reserved for the Rock Chain posts) I’ll draw one of the names (following a system that it’s really not important to be explained here) and talk about it.

Therefore, the order in which the names will appear doesn’t necessarily shows where they rank in my preference.

As a final introductory note, this is also not a biography article. I’ll just write how I feel about people represented in it, their talent and their importance in my life.

If one of the characteristics that you look for in an actor is versatility, you don’t need to look much further than Matt Damon, an actor capable of doing drama, action and comedy without compromising his acting.

Matthew Paige Damon was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts October, 8, 1970. He had a role that was praised by critics with in Courage Under Fire, but it was with a screenplay he wrote alongside his friend, Ben Affleck that he became a household name: Good Will Hunting. He and Ben received an Oscar for best Original Screenplay and Damon was nominated as Best Actor.

And it was all uphill from there. He portrayed the unforgettable Tom Ripley in The Talented Mr. Ripley and was a hilarious fallen angel in Dogma.  And he was propelled to superstardom when he was part of George Clooney’s Ocean’s Eleven.

However, to me personally, he will be forever Jason Bourne. Probably the greatest action hero of all time, the three Bourne movies (and I’m still hoping for a fourth) rank among my favorites of all time. Ruthless, violent, merciless and always a winner, Jason Bourne rules the action hero realm. I’m a huge James Bond fan, but Bourne is more driven.

When I watch those movies (and believe me,  I watched each of them more than ten times) I can’t think of another actor portraying Jason Bourne.

However, Bourne’s talent still had room to grow. He was brilliant as an undercover mobster in The Departed and as a CIA career agent in The Good Shepherd.

Damon is also rather politically active, being a vocal advocate for the Democrat party. If any proof of that was needed he portrayed a military that discovers a lot of wrong things in the Iraqi war in Green Zone.

And the cherry on the cake is that, being from Cambridge (which is practically a neighborhood in Boston), he is huge Red Sox fan!

So here’s an ultimatum for you Matt: get in the Hall Of Idols.

Be sure to check out my book “Straight And Lethal”.

You can contact me at: carloantico666@gmail.com

Add me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/carlo.antico

Follow me on tweeter: @CarloAntico

 

 

