Face The Music: A Life Exposed

Paul Stanley book

I don’t have any pretention in becoming a book blogger (that is, reviewing books in my blog). However, as I’m finishing my read of Paul Stanley’s autobiography titled exactly as it is written above, I do feel the need to comment it.

Of course I’m biased when I talk about anything Paul Stanley does, because he is such a huge idol of mine (he’s even already in the Hall Of Idols), but I swear that’s not the reason I liked it so much.

I liked it so much because it shows how Paul managed to hid all his insecurities, a terrible childhood and a grotesque birth defect from the eyes of the public throughout his career without raising any eyebrows.

I mean, maybe I’m not a huge Kiss fan as I think I am, but I never even suspected he had any deep issues with him. He always struck me as well-born, middle class Jewish kid who happened to have an enormous talent and went on to live his dreams.

Well, as a matter of fact he did go on to live his dreams but he had horrible parents, a demented sister and was born deaf and without his right ear, which increased his sense of not belonging anywhere. But he managed to go through all that to become what he became.

I always knew that if it was not for Paul, Kiss would have been over in the eighties, but I didn’t know how much that was true. I always thought that the person who was most attached to Kiss was Gene (with exception of the eighties) but as a matter of fact it was Paul’s love for Kiss that kept the boat afloat even through the Reunion tour.

Speaking of Gene, another great thing about the book is how Paul is sincere about his feelings towards him. He always calls him friend or partner but there’s no sugar-coating from Paul. He depicts Gene as egocentric, selfish, unfair and money-driven, but someone who always listened to him for the sake of the band.

Another great revelation is that Kiss only fully recovered financially from the late-seventies/early-eighties debacle with the Reunion tour. It’s not that they weren’t very rich, but they only became multi-millionaires again in the mid-nineties. Oh, and I always suspected that the making of Psycho Circus was a nightmare. I just didn’t know how big a nightmare it was.

It also surprised me that he now earns millions with his paintings. I knew he painted but I never thought he made that kind of money with it.

All in all, is a compelling read for any Kiss fan (obviously), but also a rather interesting story for anyone interested in somebody who overcame huge hurdles to become one of the greatest (if not THE greatest) Rockstars ever.

Be sure to check out my book “Straight And Lethal”.

You can contact me at: carloantico666@gmail.com

Add me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/carlo.antico

Follow me on tweeter: @CarloAntico

