Hall of Idols # 18: Paul McCartney

GOD

Eighteenth installment in a series exploring very important people in my life.

Let me start explaining how this will work: I listed 65 idols of mine. Every Friday (with the exception of those reserved for the Rock Chain posts) I’ll draw one of the names (following a system that it’s really not important to be explained here) and talk about it.

Therefore, the order in which the names will appear doesn’t necessarily shows where they rank in my preference.

As a final introductory note, this is also not a biography article. I’ll just write how I feel about people represented in it, their talent and their importance in my life.

What can I say about this guy? If the criteria for the Hall Of Idols was importance in the world or in my life instead of a mere draw from a ballot, he would be the only one which I wouldn’t have any doubt which place would be: he would be the undisputed number one.

Paul McCartney is absolutely my greatest idol encompassing all my favorite areas of human activity: music, sports, literature and movies. There’s no one in the world that I admire more than him. Simply put, to me Paul McCartney is GOD.

James Paul McCartney was born June 18th 1942 in Liverpool (England). He formed The Beatles alongside John Lennon, George Harrison and Ringo Starr and went on to become the greatest and most successful Pop musician EVER. His fortune is estimated in more than one billion pounds and when the judge of his divorce with Heather Locklear was assessing his fortune to establish how much pension he would have to pay, the judge reportedly said: “I never thought that only one person could have that much money”.

Paul is not only a genius as a musician, he is also very smart. In the beginning of Beatlemania in England, while John already needed to take care of his newborn Julian, Paul was single. Need I tell you what that means?

And how about admitting to have taken LSD live on TV and then justifying his words saying: “You asked me a question. I suppose you wanted me to tell you the truth. Here it is.” Pure genius.

He also dabbled in heavier drugs and noticed how bad it was for him to never touch them again. Something not everybody can do.

He was the one that notice that Alan Klein was a crook and shouldn’t manage The Beatles business. He even took his own three bandmates to court to prove his point. It turned out that he was right and is some strange way he saved his friends of losing a good portion of their money.

Paul McCartney single-handedly transformed Pop music from mere entertainment into pure art, when he approached John, George, Ringo and George Martin with his idea for Sgt. Pepper’s. And when everybody quotes John when talking about using loops in The Beatles with “Tomorrow Never Knows”, they should know that he had his idea based on what Paul was already doing.

In his solo career, he made avant-garde albums with McCartney II and The Firemen Project, he wrote classical music and also some of the most timeless Pop tunes ever written: “My Love”, “Maybe I’m Amazed”, “Live And Let Die”, “No More Lonely Nights”, the list is endless.

Paul is also a great humanitarian and animals lover, ready to help worth causes whenever he can. And he is reported to be the most down to Earth guy you could ever meet. Not bad for the greatest human being that ever walked the face of the Earth. Actually, I’m not so sure he is human at all. He is probably from another dimension. Or maybe as I said in the beginning, he is God. When we die, we shall go to Heaven and find him sitting up there looking at the world.

And to top it off, he wrote “Yesterday”: “only” the most recorded song ever.

For all of that Paul, please welcome to the Hall Of Idols and bless it with all your might.

Be sure to check out my book “Straight And Lethal”.

You can contact me at: carloantico666@gmail.com

Add me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/carlo.antico

Follow me on twittter: @CarloAntico

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

