Hall of Idols #35: George Lucas

georgelucas

Thirty-fifth installment in a series exploring very important people in my life.

Let me start explaining how this will work: I listed 65 idols of mine. Every Friday (with the exception of those reserved for the Rock Chain posts) I’ll draw one of the names (following a system that it’s really not important to be explained here) and talk about it.

Therefore, the order in which the names will appear doesn’t necessarily shows where they rank in my preference.

As a final introductory note, this is also not a biography article. I’ll just write how I feel about people represented in it, their talent and their importance in my life.

Yes, I know it is Thursday and I’m supposed to do Hall of Idols only on Friday, but I won’t be able to do it tomorrow so in order of not skipping a week I decided to do it today.

Albert Einstein once famously said that imagination is more important than intelligence. And there is no shortage of examples of people who proved this theory to be true. One of the most glaring examples is George Lucas. And with the whole world holding its breath for December when we gonna be graced by the seventh film of the Star Wars saga, it’s only fitting that I have an opportunity to praise him here.

George Walton Lucas Jr. was born May 14, 1944 in Modesto, California. He attended Modesto Junior College where he studied anthropology, sociology and literature before transferring to USC School of Cinematic Arts.

At USC he became friends with Steven Spielberg and was hugely influenced by the Filmic Expression course and Slavko Vorkapich classes who taught about the kinetic energy inherent in motion pictures. In 1969, George Lucas was one of the camera operators on the Rolling Stones classic film, Gimme Shelter.

He first found fame with American Graffiti, but let’s cut to the chase here and talk about what really matters: George Lucas created Star Wars and wrote the four Indiana Jones movies. Those creations became Pop culture icons and are more than enough to consider him one of the most important human beings ever.

I mean, how many of us didn’t have some kind of personal relationships with the characters from both franchises? I, for one, know people that relied on Star Wars to avoid committing suicide, I had a photo dressed as Darth Vader (light saber and all) for a fantasy party in my school when I was five and my dog (who passed away in 2005 at 15) was called Indiana Jones!

George Lucas managed to capture the imagination of the public in a way only rivaled by his good friend Steven Spielberg. And he did in such special way that was not only children’s imagination. It managed to enthrall people of all ages and take them to a magical realm.

And especially Star Wars stories seem simple and childish on the surface, but they do have some deep reflections: the whole Force thing can be interpret as a metaphor for the good and the bad inside each of us. And of course the message that anger, fear and search for revenge will only cause more harm.

Well, and if all that wasn’t good enough, he founded his own company Lucasfilm which was a springboard for the subdivisions Skywalker Sound and Industrial Light and Magic. Oh, and there’s one more thing: one third of the graphic computer division from Lucasfilm gave birth to Pixar, the greatest animation studio in the world today.

And just like the characters from the good side of the force of his Star Wars movies, Lucas is a great human being. He has foundations (to which he reportedly donated most part of the proceeds he received from selling Lucalsfilm to Walt Disney Company) and in 2005 gave 1 million to help build the Martin Luther King Jr. National Memorial on the National Mall in D.C.

For all that, Mr. Lucas, welcome to the Hall of Idols. May the Force be with you.

Be sure to check out my book “Straight And Lethal” winner of the NABE Pinnacle Awards 2014 Fall edition.

NewPinnacleAward3D2 (1)

You can contact me at: carloantico666@gmail.com

Add me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/carlo.antico

Follow me on twittter: @CarloAntico

Leave a Reply

