Moon of July

This is something I wrote 12 or 13 years ago (I can’t remember exactly how long), and it was one of those things: I was on vacation and had been out an early evening in July to rent some movies (there were still rental video stores in those days before Netflix).

When I was walking down the street I saw a huge and wonderful full moon. Late at night before going to sleep, I remembered that picture and wanted to write about it.

A few months later two friends of mine used it a lyrics to a song of theirs. They never recorded it and I only saw them performing it once. Luckily I kept the original handwritten version that I now copied to put it here. It’s rather simple, but hopefully you’ll enjoy it.

Moon of July 

Bright and yellow

On dark skies she lies

Very commanding

The Moon of July

Round and full

Lighting the night

Watching us all

The moon of July

Werewolves are howling

Lovers they sigh

Who brought this moon?

The moon of July

Sailors are partying

They surely know why

Facing the moon

The moon of July

The jesters are laughing

Others they cry

All due to the moon

The moon of July

You know that girl

That one my mind

Please bring her to me

My moon of July

Current playlist:

Listening:

Bow Wow – Warning from Stardust

Cheetah – Rock and Roll Women

Satan’s Wrath – Die Evil

Watching:

Foo Fighters – Sonic Highways (Blu-Ray)

The Avengers (Blu-Ray)

Reading:

The Vampire Armand – Anne Rice

Be sure to check out my book “Straight And Lethal” winner of the NABE Pinnacle Awards 2014 Fall edition.

NewPinnacleAward3D2 (1)

You can contact me at: carloantico666@gmail.com

Add me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/carlo.antico

Follow me on twittter: @CarloAntico

Leave a Reply

