NBA FINALS: WE LOVE THIS GAME!

NBA

Oh my God, what just happened last night? How long has it been since the NBA Finals had such an apocalyptic game 7? This was one for the ages and we are all very lucky to have witnessed it.

I hate to blow my own horn, but I got the end result exactly right, with Cleveland winning 4-3. However, not even in my wildest dreams I thought it would be in this fashion, coming from a 3-1 deficit and winning the last game in the final seconds with a three pointer from Kyrie Irving.

But there are a few things I’d like to talk about concerning this marvelous series.

First and foremost two questions that will loom over the end result and we will never know the answer: 1- If Kyrie and Kevin were healthy last year would Cleveland have won last year already? 2- This is the million dollar question: if Draymond Green had not been suspended for game 5 in Oakland with Cleveland devastated after the loss in game 4, would the series be over with Golden State winning 4-1? The answer for both questions is: maybe, maybe not.

Therefore as much as I think that Green’s suspension was too much, this cannot cloud the great achievement of the Cleveland Cavaliers. LeBron and Kyrie were amazing, Tristan Thompson helped a lot on the board and in the last game J.R. and Kevin Love were also decisive. As Green and Curry said in their press conferences, they earned it.

Now, I think Steve Kerr is a tremendous coach, but he is human and he makes mistakes too. To me, the greatest one was insisting with Harrison Barnes through the whole series when he was horrible in all games. He could have tried Barbosa or even Ian Clark. And I get it that when Bogut went down he didn’t have that much of a choice, but Ezeli and Varejão didn’t work. They harmed the team every time they came on after game 4.

And obviously there are people who will put the Splash brothers efficiency in doubt but let’s give Tyronn Lue and the Cavs’ defense credit. They were rather well guarded and it’s not easy to score against Cleveland defense especially without the aforementioned help from the inside. And about Steph’s specifically: he is the greatest shooter this game had ever known, period. But that doesn’t mean he is infallible or he can’t be guarded and this series proved to me, personally, that no, he cannot be compared to HIM.

By the way, can you imagine HIM letting a decisive game tied for so long like it happened in those last minutes of the fourth quarter, were HE playing for one team or the other? More important, can you imagine HIM playing a game 7 of the NBA Finals? He got to six finals, won all of them and never let them stretch until game 7, he took care of business before. That’s why I still think he was from another dimension.

Speaking of which, how close can LeBron get to HIM? As Asia would say, only time will tell. For now, I still think he’s behind Kobe, but the gap is closing fast. Doing a futurology exercise, my guess is that he will go down in history as the second greatest player of all time, behind only HIM.

As a final thought, to me the greatest thing about those seven games is this: I can’t wait for November and the beginning of the next season!

Current playlist:

Napalm Death – Fear, Emptiness, Despair

Witchfinder General – Death Penalty

Vixen – s/t

Watching:

The Stand

Be sure to check out my book “Straight and Lethal”

You can contact me at: carloantico666@gmail.com

Add me on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/carlo.antico

Follow me on twittter: @CarloAntico

Leave a Reply

